Admin

Seniors Only - Class of 2018

Current News                                                                    

Graduation!!
Graduation date is Tuesday, May 22, at 6:00 PM
The Church of the Highlands
Students received a letter with complete instructions for graduation. Please see the link below to read the graduation notice

Click here to see the letter

Need CASH for COLLEGE? Get started on your FAFSA now!  The Deadline for having your FAFSA information completed for most colleges is ​MARCH 1, 2018. Everyone, no matter what your family income level, needs to complete the FAFSA. The first step is getting a FAFSA ID. The student and the parent/guardian each need to apply for an ID. Click here to start the process .   

IMPORTANT DATES FOR SENIORS


MARCH

Thursday, March 15 – Alabama Homebuilders Foundation Scholarship Deadline, Mercedes-Benz Scholarship Program Deadline, and American Association of Blacks in Energy Scholarship Deadline, Horatio Alger Career Tech Scholarship OPENS

Sunday, March 18 – T.L. Hale Alpha Kappa Psi Scholarship Deadline

Monday, March 19 – Reservation link for Senior Picnic will be sent to students’ JCBOE email. T-shirts are included for students who met the original deadline for payment of senior assessment. Other shirts can be reserved with payment ($10 per shirt) to Mrs. Garrison by Thursday, April 5.

Tuesday, March 20 – ACT test for Juniors and DEADLINE for National Coalition of 100 Black Women Scholarship

Friday, March 23 – Deadline for late registration for April ACT

Friday, March 23 – Prom Date approval form due (Forms are available in the main office)

Monday, March 26 – Friday, March 30 – Spring Break

Sunday, March 31  - Deadline for Janice M. Scott Memorial Scholarship Fund and Deadline for American Society of Engineers Scholarship

APRIL

Monday, April 2 - Deadline for West Jefferson High School Alumni Scholarship

Tuesday, April 3 – Friday, April 6 – ALL SENIORS stop by table outside the lunchroom to sign the template to have their name included on the senior picnic shirt.

Thursday, April 5 – Cap and Gown Pictures and Deadline for paying for Senior Picnic t-shirt 

Friday, April 6 – T. L. Hale Alpha Kappa Psi scholarship deadline

Saturday, April 14 – ACT Test

Sunday, April 15 – deadline for UWA Scholarship application, Lawson State Scholarship Application Deadline

Wednesday, April 18 Senior Week information goes out to seniors through their JCBOE email.

Friday, April 20 - Herb Hanes-Bill Sparks Scholarship deadline

Tuesday, April 24 – Team rosters for Senior Picnic competitions due to Mrs. Garrison

Thursday, April 26 – SVHS Senior Honors Day 9:00 am followed by Senior Picnic

Friday, April 27 – PROM at Iron City 7:00 pm – 11:00 pm Students must have paid their Senior Assessment Fee ($100) in order to attend by February 16. The Prom t-shirt is included, but student MUST RESERVE their T-shirt size using the link sent to students’ JCBOE emails in order to receive one. The shirt reservation email will be sent at the end of February

MAY

Tuesday, May 1 – Robert O. Finley III Foundation Scholarship deadline

Wednesday, May 2 – Senior Check out sheets go out

Friday, May 4 – deadline for clearing up amounts owed to the library (outstanding books and fees)

Monday, May 7 – Tuesday, May 15 – AP Exams

Wednesday, May 9 – Link to google docs for Senior Final Transcript (sent free) and Senior Exit Survey will be emailed to seniors through JCBOE email address. These google docs must be completed by every senior as part of the checkout process. Failure to do so will keep you from participating in graduation ceremony.

Friday, May 11 – Thursday, May 17 – possible dates for Senior exams

Friday, May 11 – Senior Checkout sheets due to Ms. Smith and Google doc completion deadline

Monday, May 21 – SVHS Senior Breakfast and Graduation Practice. Each Senior will receive 7 tickets at Graduation Practice.

Tuesday, May 22 – SVHS Graduation 6:00 pm Church of the Highlands Grants Mill !!!

Thursday, May 31 - Mahin and Saifulla Salemy High School Scientific Scholarship deadline , Accuplan Scholarship deadline


​Check out Alabama's Community Colleges: Click here for a list of colleges and links to their websites . Check out these schools for certificate programs and be ready for an in-demand job in less than two years!

Are you looking for colleges and universities that have your desired major and are within your financial boundaries? Set up an account in CAPPEX

Looking for a job to begin working after graduation? Create an account in INDEED . This is a great source to connect with job openings.

Click here for news about jobs/careers in Alabama . The auto industry and other industries need trained workers now!

If you have not already completed the College and Career interest google form, please do so now! Click here to access the form.



Wondering what you need to do to get ready for life after high school?Click here to receive access to an important checklist of activities you should be completing as a SENIOR! 


Be part of the parent email blast! Send your preferred email address that you check frequently to Jane Watkins, Counselor for the Class of 2018, jgwatkins@jcboe.k12.al.






 
 



 



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.